The history of the Community Church of Richmond UCC is as old as the history of Richmond itself. We are the product of the successful merger of the Methodist Episcopal Church and the Congregational Church, both of which had their beginnings with the settlement of the community. The Methodist Episcopal Church was founded by William McConnell, one of the first settler of this area, and a Circuit Rider, the Rev. L.S. Walker of Marengo in 1838.
The Congregational Church was founded in 1843 by the Rev. Rodgers and seven members. Both groups met in homes at first, then the village school, until they built their own buildings in the 1850s.
Our current building, with its beautiful stained glass windows, was built in 1902 by the Methodist Episcopal congregation. But hard times fell on each of the churches in the 1930s. Realizing they could not survive independently, they agreed to a merger in October, 1937, and the Community Church of Richmond became a reality.
In 1995, we received a plaque from the McHenry County Historical Society, noting our unique history in the community: ours is the oldest church building in Richmond still being used to worship God.